Archive for December 6, 2008

Thou Shall Not Steal: This Means Christians Too

December 6, 2008

Some thieves, and I’m assuming they’re Christian here, stole the atheist holiday sign off the government building lawn in Olympia Washington. The sign was later found in a ditch and returned by an actual good person.

The actual CNN article about the theft isn’t much better. It claims the sign criticizes Christianity, when it doesn’t even mention it. Dan Barker makes a pretty good point. He said, “If there can be a Nativity scene saying that we are all going to hell if we don’t bow down to Jesus, we should be at the table to share our views”.

There is a very simple answer. If you don’t want atheist displays on government lawns, then don’t demand to put religious displays on government lawns.

I’ve always been amazed at how quickly and easily Christians are insulted by even the mention of any other viewpoint. There are thousands of Christian books, billboards, signs, nativity scenes (I drive by a really really creapy lighted cross whenever I go to the mall) but if an atheist themed book is released or display is put up they cry persecution. Well, I am pretty mild mannered, do plenty of charity work, honestly attempt to be good each and every day and I still get insulted, my meetings get crashed, I’m told I’m going to be tortured in a magical imaginary fairy land after I die, and of late I’ve received hate mail to my home address. I use to try to take the Christian side and make sure that anything I said showed tolerance and respect but I’m starting to rethink that. Perhaps Christians don’t deserve any respect at all.

