Pastor Potty Mouth

Dr. T. Scott Christmas, pastor at the Grace Community Church in Jacksonville Florida is threatening to tell the entire congregation that Rebecca Hancock is having sex with her boyfriend. Shocking! Rebecca is 49 years old and is no longer a member of the church. The pastor has “threatened” to tell the congregation that she has nookie, unless she stops having nookie. Can somebody say, “mentally ill”? I can. This guy is fucked in the head. And her leaving this church is long overdue.
And, of course, the holy always have a quote to excuse their ass-hole-ery. According to a letter she received from the church:

In accordance with Matthew 18:17 we intend to ‘tell it to the church.'”

This passage starts in verse 15 with “If your brother sins against you” not with, if someone
sins and that sin doesn’t involve you in any way shape or form. But, I suppose it’s easy to mistake the two if you’re constantly horning into other people’s sex lives. If he was generally concerned about her, I would think a private conference would be the most prudent action. After that, there really isn’t really anything he can do, unless he believes himself to have the power to control other peoples lives (mini-god?).

Just out of fun, what does the Bible say about adultery? Or, more to the point, what does Paul say, since the quotes from the Bible about adultery are from him (I think it’s funny when people claim that the “bible” says it). These are the quotes that people seem to use.

“It is God’s will that you should be sanctified: that you should avoid sexual immorality” 1 Thessalonians 4:3.

“Flee from sexual immorality. All other sins a man commits are outside his body, but he who sins sexually sins against his own body.”—1 Corinthians 6:18.

“Do you not know that the wicked will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor male prostitutes nor homosexual offenders 10nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.”? (1 Corinthians 6:9-10)

As you many have guessed, Paul had issues with his sexuality. Personally, I think that he was gay. His quotes against sexuality, though most people take them as meaning adultery in general, I think point more toward a sexuality that “dare not speak it’s name”, particularity in the “good old days” of homophobia and irrational belief.

Explore posts in the same categories: Beliefs and Superstitions, Not "Real" Christians, religion

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Pastor Potty Mouth”

  1. BarJabba Says:

    I personally do not think highly of those that constantly use “Colorful metaphors” in their prose. Aside from that, this article makes me think of little old betties, gossiping their heads off. Maybe like in the beauty salons.

    Of course, bloggers aren’t reporters, nor should most of them be literarily inclined. Most can’t be taken too seriously. Especially, if they can’t even do high school English compositions. It probably is an imposition for me or anyone else, to ask for some better prose and composition of the typical blogger. Asking to get the story straight and/or the references to scripture in context and not so blatantly miss-used (this blog too), probably will be dismissed.

    I most certainly do not have any love for mans diverse religious systems, and this includes most Christian denominations. I tend to stay away from or getting too close to “mega” churches and other “name it and claim it” greed based sorts. I know, that is most of todays TV Christianity. There are goodly pockets of local churches, that are still single in their spiritually. All this mass departures have been predicted, quite specifically, by the way.

    The scriptures are my best friend and any miss-use of them is appalling, and abhorrent to me. As well as, many of the “religious nutbag” and scammers. I especially dislike the use of “scripture bullets” for one line “shots.” Even against those “Christians” that just disagree with the personal interpretations.

    I do not, however, discount true spirituality, which includes; God as a reality, the Holy Bible as His truth, and His coming to us and giving up His life for us. I simply have stopped; “Throwing the baby out with the bath water!”

    When I am doing my research and study, I do go to where the Holy Spirit leads me. When listening to a teaching or a sermon, I have a strong “discernment” filter. I am basically “spitting out the bones,” as it were. My doing things the way I do them, I have found so much enlightenment to the soul and practical help in real life. I even had a foreknowledge of events to come, from time to time.

    I have had my life struggles, and they are much more than a normal healthy man’s struggles. Not to toot my horn, but to say, I am being helped from above. If it wasn’t so, I would have died long ago. I can only pray and hope that those who do not know such a closeness and such a personalized “relationship” with ones Creator, will (re)consider it. Time is all about gone for these decisions . At least, in its most potent and helpful ways. Life on earth is going to change drastically (and is/has now changing). Mankind has not been through this in his history. The only thing close was the deluge (the flood).

    I do not, however, discount God, the Bible (as is) nor true spirituality. So I speak out of love and peace to all, but “stand” on what I know, and what I have experienced spiritually.

    Always Christ-led,

    BarJabba


Leave a Reply

