Fluffy Insults From Our Right

Glenn Beck, master of dicking with American consciousness for profit, has dissed Sarah Palin’s invitation to be her running mate in 2012 with a few choice words.

“I was just thinking, what, I’m going to take a back seat to a chick? Go shoot a bear, make some stew, I’m hungry in here.”

“So while she’s considering it … I just want her to know, I’m ruling it out. A Palin-Beck ticket, I’m absolutely ruling it out,” Beck said. “I’m just saying, Beck-Palin, I’ll consider. But Palin-Beck — can you imagine what an administration with the two of us would be like? She’d be yapping or something, I’d say, ‘I’m sorry, why am I hearing your voice? I’m not in the kitchen.’

Will he lose fans over this sexist remark? Probably not. Beck’s style, of course, is to say everything in a mocking condescending way so he can later deny responsibility for anything he says. Does he dislike Palin? Or just hate women? Oh, neither, it’s all just a joke that I’m sure everying in the audience in in on. He doesn’t have any woman haters or bigots in his audience, they’re all bright, educated, civilized people that respect each other and are only joking around.

This sort of fuzzy correspondence is nothing new in the conservative movement. They seem to base their entire platform on it. During the last election, the McCain campaign felt the need to encode their disregard for the Establishment Clause with the phrase “religion in the public square” (any follower of a dying and rising savior god that wants to get up and a stump and start make a speech sure can do so, but they have about 20 seconds of my attention to say something interesting).

Of late, some Funda-gelicals have felt the need to hide presidential death threats with Bible verses.

Chuck Norris, apparently, believes he has lost his freedoms, but can’t seen to stick his finger on what these freedoms are.

If the leaders of these movements can’t be more concrete with their intentions, then do their backers even know what it is that they are backing? I have a feeling they don’t. As this video of Sarah Palin fans shows. They define themselves as supporters, but when asked why, they’re not quite sure.

They are so excited by buzz phrases and personality that they have no idea what Palin’s actual plans are.

Fluffy messages and feel good/bad words are not a plan make. Actual honest to goodness intentions must be laid out. Otherwise we wind up with a bunch of angry people that have no idea what the hell they are angry about. But, if starting a mob and using them as your pawns is all you’re interested in, well, then I guess you couldn’t do better than the conservative movement. Vagueness is the great leveler.

Explore posts in the same categories: politics

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Fluffy Insults From Our Right”


  1. I just said something similar on another blog…but I’ll say it again here: Americans are largely morons!

    How we have been able to exist this long, retain our freedoms, and haven’t succumbed to Third-Worldism at the hands of thse unthinking creationist, bible loving, vapid douchebags is a mystery to me.


Leave a Reply

